Home HRAwards The 2013 Seatrade Awards

The 2013 Seatrade Awards

by admin

martin stopford sta 2013This year’s Seatrade Awards Ceremonial Dinner took place on 10th May 2013, with over 350 of the maritime industry’s key players celebrating the outstanding contributions made over the last year for safe, efficient and environmentally friendly shipping.   The awards were presented by Master of Ceremonies, Stephen Sackur, at the magnificent setting of the Guildhall in London. The Seatrade Awards programme rewards new ideas and concepts that have proved themselves in early operational use and awarding those at the forefront of new thinking.  The independent judging panel chaired by Koji Sekimizu, Secretary-General of the IMO, selected the winners of the 2013 awards.

Seatrade 25th Anniversary Personality 2013: Shipping Intelligence  

Award sponsored by ClassNK   Dr Martin Stopford, President, Clarksons Research Services   Dr Martin Stopford received the Seatrade Personality Award from sponsor Mr Noboru Ueda, Chairman & President, ClassNK and IMO Secretary-General, Koji Sekimizu

Seatrade Lifetime Achievement Award 2013  

STA 2013 lifetimeAward sponsored by Oman Drydock Company

Mr Li Shaode received the Seatrade Lifetime Achievement Award from sponsor Ms Khawla Al Amri, Senior Manager, HR, Oman Drydock Company and IMO Secretary-General, Koji Sekimizu.

Seatrade  Global Performer 2013  sta 2013 global performer

Presented to Mr Saleh N Al-Jasser, CEO, Bahri recognises the recent merger between NSCSA and Vela, which demonstrates Bahri’s sincere dedication to the industry and portrays Bahri’s great achievement of expanding and developing in order to meet the ever growing needs of international trade and logistics.   Mr Saleh N Al-Jasser, CEO, Bahri received the Seatrade Global Performer Award from Chris Hayman, Chairman, Seatrade and IMO Secretary-General, Koji Sekimizu.

Seatrade Award for countering piracy

sta 2013 countering piracyAward sponsored by DP World   Award for Countering Piracy was awarded to His Highness Sheikh Abdullah bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, UAE and was accepted on his behalf by His Excellency Abdulrahman Al –Mutaiwee, UAE Ambassador to the UK.   His Excellency Abdulrahman Al-Mutaiwee, UAE Ambassador in the UK received the Seatrade Award for Countering Piracy on behalf of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, from sponsor Mr Mohammed Sharaf, CEO, DP World and IMO Secretary-General, Koji Sekimizu.

The IMO 2013 themed award: Sustainable Development – IMO’s contribution beyond Rio+20 in support of the IMO’s theme for World Maritime Day for 2013 was awarded to A.P Moller Maersk  sta 2013 sustainable development

A.P Moller Maersk received the IMO 2013 themed award: Sustainable Development – IMO’s contribution beyond Rio+20 from the sponsor Mr Ioannis Kourmatzis, COO, DNV Europe & North Africa and IMO Secretary-General, Koji Sekimizu






Seatrade Young Person in Shipping 2013  

sta 2013 young personDr Priyath Bandu Wickrama, Chairman, Sri Lanka Ports Authority was presented with the Seatrade Young Person in Shipping Award for 2013 from IMO Secretary-General, Koji Sekimizu and Seatrade Chairman, Chris Hayman.

Safety at Sea Award 

Award sponsored by Lloyd’s Register   Winner: ClassNK Accepted by Mr Noboru Ueda, Chairman & President   Runners up:  Safety at Sea Ltd  Saint-Gobain Marine Applications

Clean Shippingsta 2013 clean seas

Award Sponsored by ABS   Winner: WR Systems Ltd Accepted by Mr David Edwards, President and COO   Runners up:  Blue Ocean Solutions Pte Ltd Nippon Yusen Kabushiki Kaisha (NYK Line)






Innovation in ships operations

sta 2013 innovation in ships operationsAward sponsored by General Organisation of Sea Ports   Winner: Lankhorst Ropes Accepted by Steven Wardenier, Commercial Director   Runner up:  FluxDrive inc TOTAL Lubrifiants – Lubmarine









Investment in Peoplesta 2013 investment in people

Award sponsored by Arab Shipbuilding & Repair Yard Company   Winner: Maritime Skills Alliance (MSA) Accepted by Nigel Palmer OBE, Chairman   Runners up: Bernard Schulte Shipmanagement Thome Group of Companies V.Ships

Seatrade Special Award

sta 2013 themis vokos specialA special award was presented to Themis Vokos, founder of Seatrade in recognition of his exceptional contribution to global communication in the shipping industry.







You may also like

Leave a Comment