Home HRAnniversaries Seahorse Club celebrates its 50th Anniversary: Annual Journalist Awards Winners Announced

Seahorse Club celebrates its 50th Anniversary: Annual Journalist Awards Winners Announced

by admin

The Seahorse Club Awards 20132013 is a very special year for the Seahorse Club as it celebrates its 50th Anniversary.  To mark the occasion a very special Christmas Party was held in London on Tuesday, 10th December which attracted many Seahorse supporters both old and new.

In addition, two new Journalist Awards were launched; the first celebrating the influx of new blood into the ranks of transport journalism – The Newcomer of the Year award, sponsored by long-term  Seahorse supporter, TT Club.  The second award reflected the special skills required to successfully utilize the new social media revolution and is sponsored by ShipServ – The Social Media Journalist of the Year.

Once again Seahorse Club received a record number of entries (182 across the nine categories of award) from more than 72 journalists worldwide.  The awards recognize excellence in news and feature writing for journalists specialising in the maritime, freight transport and supply chain industries.

Johanna Parsons of Logistics Manager was named Seahorse Club Journalist of the Year for a trilogy of articles which showed a great depth of content and research, and which were written in a style most likely to engage the reader.

The close runner-up for Seahorse Journalist of the Year was Holly Birkett who writes for Hazardous Cargo Bulletin.

International Editor of the Year was awarded to Julian Bray, editor of TradeWinds.

David Kershaw, who joined the Heavy Lift and Project Forwarding International editorial team just a year ago, was the inaugural winner of the Newcomer of the Year Award.

Mike King, based in Asia and writing for The Economist, was named News Journalist of the Year, with Savahna Nightingale, from Fairplay as the runner-up.

Tim Blakemore from Commercial Vehicle Engineer won Feature Journalist, with Stephen Spark from Fairplay Solutions named as runner-up.

Environmental Journalist of the Year is James Graham from the Baltic with Edwin Lampert from Riviera Media and writing for Future Marine Fuels & Lubricants, as runner-up.

Eric Kulisch based in the US and writing for American Shipper was named Supply Chain Journalist of the Year, with Damian Brett, from Informa’s Containerisation International as the runner-up.

The Air Cargo Journalist of the Year award was given to Megan Ramsay, a freelance journalist writing for Heavy Lift & Project Forwarding.

The first Social Media Journalist of the Year is Holly Birkett.  Holly consistently engages with clients, PR and other journalists through various social media profiles as editor of Hazardous Cargo Bulletin, making this challenging topic both appealing and interesting.

Seahorse Club Chairman Peter Owen also announced the winners of the club’s two special awards, named in memory of two former Seahorse stalwarts.

Presenting the John Rose Personality of the Year Award award, Roger Hailey, editor of Containerisation International, made a memorable tribute to long-standing colleague and friend, Marcia Macleod, who after 40 years as a freelance journalist in the industry is putting this aside to work on more personal interests.

Finally, the John Richman Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to the late David Cheslin, a long term Seahorse support and Director of PR agency, Dunelm Public Relations Ltd.

The awards were presented at the Seahorse Club’s annual Christmas Party held in association with Associated British Ports. Event sponsorship was also provided by American Bureau of Shipping (ABS) and International Transport Journal.  Individual awards were sponsored by: APM Terminals, DP World, Geodis Wilson, Port of Singapore (PSA International), ShipServ, TTClub, UK P&I Club and Wallenius Wilhelmsen Logistics.

The Seahorse Club is a networking group for public relations, marketing, advertising and journalism professionals within the freight, passenger, shipping and logistics sectors.

You may also like

Leave a Comment