Home Associations Entries open for Lloyd’s List North American Maritime Awards

Entries open for Lloyd’s List North American Maritime Awards

by admin
Joe Cox

Joe Cox

Entries are starting to roll in for the second annual Lloyd’s List North American Maritime Awards to be held in Houston on Wednesday February 19, 2015.

The inaugural awards event was a big success attracting more than 300 maritime industry representatives from across North America.

The event sponsor is ABS and the awards are officially endorsed by the American Salvage Association, Association of Ship Brokers and Agents, BIMCO, Chamber of Shipping of America, Connecticut Maritime Association, Cruise Lines International Association, North American Marine Environment Protection Association (NAMEPA), National Ocean Industries Association, Shipping Federation of Canada, North American Maritime Ministry Association, New York Maritime (NYMAR), Port of Houston Authority, West Gulf Maritime Association and WISTA US.

Categories for the awards are:

  • International Ship Operator of the Year
  • Inland Ship Operator of the Year
  • Offshore Ship Operator of the Year
  • Port Operator of the Year
  • Shipyard of the Year
  • Safety Award
  • Environment Award
  • Maritime Services Award
  • Marine Casualty Response Award
  • Training Award
  • Seafarer of the Year
  • Seafarer Advocate of the Year
  • Technical Innovation Award
  • Deal of the Year
  • Newsmaker of the Year
  • Lifetime Achievement

Lloyd’s List is pleased to announce that the inaugural judging panel will return to judge the 2015 awards – Joe Cox (President, Chamber of Shipping of America),   Michael Broad (President, Shipping Federation of Canada), Bud Darr (Senior Vice President, Cruise Lines International Association), Niels Aalund (Senior Vice President, West Gulf Maritime Association, Bob Somerville (former Chairman of the American Bureau of Shipping) Nicky Pappadakis (President Emeritus, INTERCARGO, John McLaurin (President, President of the Pacific Merchant Shipping Association) and the Managing Editor of Lloyd’s List, Richard Meade.

The judging co-ordinator is Carleen Lyden-Kluss, co-founder and Executive Director of NAMEPA (North American Marine Environment Protection Association).

Editor of Lloyd’s List, Richard Meade, said the 2014 awards attracted more than 100 entries across the various categories which was an outstanding result for an inaugural event.

“I am sure we will again be overwhelmed by the number of nominations which reflects the importance of these awards which is the only –all industry awards event on the North American maritime calendar, ” he said.

Among last year’s winners were Kirby Corporation (Inland/Coastal/Lake Ship Operator of the year) Titan (Marine Casualty Response), Port of New Orleans (Port of the Year), Fednav and NAMEPA (Environmental Achievement) Navios (Ocean Going Ship Operator) while Mr Robert D Somerville was named winner of the inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award.

Any individual or company can nominate themselves, companies can nominate their customers, customers can nominate their suppliers and members of the supporting association are encouraged to nominate fellow members for their category of expertise.

How to nominate: Go to www.lloydlist.com and click on the Awards link. All nominations must be made on line. The awards website gives full details of criteria for all categories.

Nominations close on November 26.

For more information go to www.lloydslist.com and click on the Awards menu. For other information, contact the Lloyd’s List North America awards co-ordinator Carleen Lyden-Kluss c.lyden-kluss@morganmarketcomm.com.


Category sponsorship inquiries should be directed to Robbi Tamne robbi.tamne@informa.com

You may also like

Leave a Comment