Home HRAwards Evergreen wins Lloyd’s List Training Award

Evergreen wins Lloyd’s List Training Award

by admin

141103 Evergreen Seafarer Training CenterNovember 3, 2014 – Evergreen Line was presented the Training Award in Lloyd List Asia Awards 2014. The ceremony, attended by hundreds of maritime professionals, was held at Marina Bay Sands, Singapore to celebrate the achievement of the highest standards of business performance in the shipping industry.

The Award in the Training Category is bestowed on the organization which has shown outstanding commitment in training its employees ashore and at sea and has demonstrated a significant contribution towards improving training standards. From a short-list of five international companies the judges chose Evergreen Line for its investment in new facilities and courses, innovative training solutions and a sustained and effective approach to developing quality staff in the maritime sector.

Ms. Molly Mok, Chairman of Evergreen Marine (Singapore), in accepting the award said, “Evergreen Group Chairman Dr. Chang always says that people of talent are the most valuable assets of an enterprise. I am delighted to receive this award on behalf of Evergreen Line. It recognises Evergreen’s commitment to the highest standards of training to ensure safety at sea and on land, an operation that is as friendly as possible to the environment and a top quality service for our customers.”

As part of its commitment to continually improve the skills of its vessel crew, Evergreen has established the Evergreen Seafarer Training Center (ESTC), one of the world’s most sophisticated maritime training establishments. The Center provides training of the highest quality for both Taiwanese seafarers and those of other nationalities who serve on Evergreen’s fleet.

ESTC is constantly updating and augmenting the courses it offers. In 2013, it received certification for a number of is new courses from the Japanese Classification Society, ClassNK. These courses include Bridge Resource Management (BRM), Electronic Chart Display Information Systems (ECDIS) and Engine-room Resource Management (ERM).

In common with the existing courses the Center offers, the certification confirms that the training programs meet the requirements of ClassNK standards, International Maritime Organisation’s (IMO) model course requirements and the International Convention on Standards of Training, Certification and Watchkeeping for Seafarers (STCW) Code.

Lloyd’s List is an authoritative voice within global shipping industry. The Lloyd’s List Asia Awards have been presented annually to reward outstanding performance and service innovation; to highlight operating safety and social responsibility as well as to recognize the importance of education and training.


You may also like

Leave a Comment