Home Associations A shortlist of industry sector winners at the International Safety Awards 2016 is announced

A shortlist of industry sector winners at the International Safety Awards 2016 is announced

by admin
Mike Robinson, Chief Executive of the British Safety Council

Mike Robinson, Chief Executive of the British Safety Council

The British Safety Council has published the names of organisations shortlisted for the Sector Awards of the International Safety Awards 2016.

The winners in each of nine Sector Award categories will be announced by Lynda Armstrong OBE, Chair of Trustees, and Mike Robinson, Chief Executive of the British Safety Council, at the International Safety Awards Gala Dinner that will take place at the Grosvenor House in London on Friday 6 May 2016.

This year, 443 organisations achieved a pass or a higher achievement in the British Safety Council’s prestigious International Safety Award scheme. These results were announced on 10 March 2016. Of these winning organisations, 34 have been shortlisted by the panel of adjudicators as deserving candidates for the Sector Awards.

Mike Robinson, Chief Executive of the British Safety Council, said: “On behalf of the Trustees and staff of the British Safety Council we warmly congratulate these 34 organisations that have been shortlisted for a Sector Award. This is the third year we have presented the Sector Awards as part of our long-standing International Safety Awards scheme, recognising those that have been judged by our independent adjudicators as outstanding businesses in their sectors. This accolade is particularly significant since within the very high standard represented by all winners of the awards, these organisations excel in their industries.

“We look forward to announcing the winners of the Sector Awards and to celebrating with a great number of the International Safety Award winners at the Gala Dinner on 6 May 2016.”

The International Safety Awards scheme, now in its 58th year, celebrates organisations from around the world that have demonstrated, to the satisfaction of the scheme’s independent judges, their commitment to preventing work-related injuries and ill health during the 2015 calendar year.

The shortlisted organisations by sector are:

Construction and property services
Bachy Soletanche Limited – Burscough
Carillion Services – Carillion House
China State Construction Engineering Corporation (M.E) LLC – C – Infrastructure   Division, Dubai
Ferrovial Agroman – Chiswick Tower
Imtech Engineering Services North – Calder House
Imtech Inviron – Birmingham Business Park
ISG Fit Out & Engineering Limited – Fit Out West
Kier Construction London – Loughton
Livis Limited – Livis House
Mount Anvil Ltd – 140 Aldersgate Street
Oakray Ltd – Head Office
Tolmann Allied Services Company Limited – Port Harcourt, Nigeria
VolkerFitzpatrick Ltd – Doncaster Carr Depot
UrbaCon Trading & Contracting – Al Jassim Tower

Financial, IT, legal, scientific, technical services and media
Babcock Communications Media Services – Wyvil Court
Middlemarch Environmental Ltd – Triumph House
Oando Marketing Plc – APAPA Lagos
Oando Marketing Plc – Onne Terminal, Lagos

Hospitality and catering
Whittlebury Hall and Spa Ltd

Stellrad Ltd – Mexborough
Texas Instruments (UK) Ltd – GFAB, Greenock

Oil, gas, mining and quarrying
Bahrain National Gas Company – AL SAKHIR 985
Indorama Eleme Petrochemicals Ltd. – Port Harcourt, Nigeria
Petrostuff12 – Port Harcourt Warehouse Offshore Support Base

Power and utilities
BSES Yamuna Power Limited – Karkardooma
Dounreay Site Restoration Ltd – Dounreay
Wessex Water Operations – Bath

Transport, distribution and storage 
Delhi International Airport Limited
North Star Shipping (Aberdeen) Ltd
Unipart Aftermarket Logistics – Baginton
Unipart Technology Logistics (UTL) – Burton on Trent
VolkerRail Ltd – Doncaster

Local government, defence and public services 
Plymouth Community Homes

Kingston University – Penrhyn Road

Photographic requests
Images of the 2015 International Safety Awards Gala Dinner can be downloaded using the following link.

About the International Safety Awards
The International Safety Awards is an annual scheme designed to recognise and reward good health and safety management by organisations of all sizes and sectors around the world during the previous calendar year. These awards are now in their 58th year.

The list of International Safety Award winners for 2016 is at: www.britsafe.org/isa

International Safety Awards Gala Dinner,  6 May 2016
The 2016 International Safety Awards Gala Dinner will be held at the Grosvenor House Hotel, Park Lane, London, on Friday 6 May 2016 to celebrate the success of the winners. Attendees will enjoy a spectacular evening that includes awards presentations, a fine dining experience, entertainment and dancing.

Find out more about the 2016 International Safety Awards Gala Dinner at:www.britsafe.org/events/galadinner

About the British Safety Council
For more than half a century we’ve been a trusted guide to excellent health, safety and environmental management. We have educated millions of workers and made hundreds of thousands of workplaces safer for everyone. We do this by sharing information, supporting, advising, educating and campaigning. We are a registered charity.

We have set out the five steps and the supporting actions we believe are essential to ensure healthy and safe work activities in our manifesto,  Working Well – see:www.britsafe.org/manifesto

We would be grateful if you could use British Safety Council in full rather than abbreviating to BSC when quoting our organisation.

Business benefits of health and safety campaign
Good health and safety is good business. The British Safety Council has published a report on the business benefits of health and safety that brings together major evidence published in the UK and Europe showing the positive economic impact of reducing risks to the health and safety of workers. More information can be obtained here: www.britsafe.org/policy-and-opinion/research#bus_ben

You may also like

Leave a Comment