Home Associations The winners of International Safety Awards 2017 are announced

The winners of International Safety Awards 2017 are announced

by admin

The British Safety Council has announced the winners of its 2017 International Safety Awards, which recognise and celebrate organisations from around the world which have shown a real dedication to keeping their workers and workplaces healthy and safe during the 2016 calendar year.

This year, 531 organisations of all sizes and sectors won an International Safety Award, including businesses from the UK, Africa, Asia, India, mainland Europe and the Middle East. 31 organisations were awarded a distinction, 300 were awarded a merit and 200 organisations achieved a pass.

The full list of winners is at: www.britsafe.org/isa and in the attached document.

Mike Robinson, Chief Executive of the British Safety Council, congratulated the winners: “The International Safety Awards, now in their 59th year, celebrate and reward organisations from around the world, which have demonstrated, to the satisfaction of the scheme’s independent judges, a commitment to protecting their staff from being injured or made ill at work.

“Sensible and proportionate management of health and safety risks at work brings lasting benefits for workers, their families, businesses and society as a whole. By celebrating and sharing the achievements of the winners of the International Safety Awards, we encourage businesses all over the world to follow their lead and place employees’ health and safety at the heart of their business.”

“Our warmest congratulations to all the winners.”

The winners are drawn from various industry sectors and include construction, housebuilding, civil and rail engineering companies, such as Connell Brothers Ltd, Ductclean (UK) and Amana Group; engineering and manufacturing businesses, such as Airbus UK Ltd, GlaxoSmithKline Montrose and ISS Facilities Services, as well as transport, distribution and logistics companies, such as Aberdeen International Airport, Bibby Distribution Limited and Nahdi Medical Company. The leisure sector is also well represented with winners, such as Arsenal Football Club and the Rugby Football Union’s Twickenham Stadium.

International winners include Abu Dhabi Island, Fatima Fertilizer Company, Indian Oil, Garda World International Protective Services and Sotech General Contracting Limited.

Celebrate at the International Safety Awards Gala Dinner, Friday 5 May 2017
Mike Robinson added: “I look forward to celebrating the success of the International Safety Award winners at our spectacular 60th Anniversary and 2017 International Safety Awards Gala Dinner, which will be held at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel on the night of Friday 5 May 2017.

“The black-tie event will be hosted by broadcaster Gabby Logan. It will feature a formal presentation of the awards, a fine dining experience and an evening of live entertainment and dancing.”

Those who purchase a ticket for the gala dinner before Friday 7 April 2017 will be entered into a prize draw to spend the night of Friday 5 May in a superior room plus breakfast for two at the Grosvenor House Hotel (terms and conditions apply).

To book go to: www.britsafe.org/galadinner

About the International Safety Awards scheme
The International Safety Awards are open to organisations of all types, sizes and sectors in the UK and internationally, both members of the British Safety Council and non-members, and relate to the health and safety management at a specific site or business unit.

Applicants must answer a series of online questions about their management of health and safety risks during the previous year which are assessed by a team of independent chartered health and safety professionals. If the application meets the required standard, a pass, merit or – for really exceptional submissions – a distinction is awarded.

Selected high scoring winning organisations are shortlisted for additional ‘Sector Awards’ recognising outstanding sites and business units in up to 13 individual business sectors, as judged by the independent adjudicators.

The International Safety Awards scheme also features two awards to recognise exceptional individual performance of non-health and safety professionals who played a significant role keeping their work colleagues safe and healthy. These are the Health and Safety Champion of the Year Award, for personnel aged 25 or over, and the Young Health and Safety Champion of the Year Award, for personnel aged 16-24.

These allow organisations applying for an International Safety Award to nominate individual employees who have gone the extra mile to help protect the health, safety and welfare of their colleagues and others.

The winners of the Sector Awards and the Health and Safety Champion and Young Health and Safety Champion of the Year will be announced at the International Safety Awards Gala Dinner on Friday 5 May 2017.

More information on the International Safety Awards can be found at: www.britsafe.org/isa

About the British Safety Council
For more than half a century we’ve been a trusted guide to excellent health, safety and environmental management. We have educated millions of workers and made hundreds of thousands of workplaces safer for everyone. We do this by sharing information, supporting, advising, educating and campaigning. We are a membership organisation and a charity.

In 2017, the British Safety Council is celebrating its 60th anniversary. A programme of special events and projects planned for our diamond jubilee can be seen here.

We would be grateful if you could use British Safety Council in full rather than abbreviating to BSC when quoting our organisation.

British Safety Council’s networks:
Website:                       www.britsafe.org
Twitter:                         www.twitter.com/britsafe
Facebook:                    www.facebook.com/britishsafetycouncil
YouTube:                     www.youtube.com/britishsafetycouncil
LinkedIn group:            www.linkedin.com/company/british-safety-council
Safety Management magazine:   https://sm.britsafe.org

ISA 2017 Winners List V1

You may also like

Leave a Comment