Home Associations Health and Safety Champions are shortlisted for International Safety Awards 2017

Health and Safety Champions are shortlisted for International Safety Awards 2017

by admin

Ben Ealey-Newman (centre) , Young H&S Champion for 2016

Recognising individual contributions to keeping workers and workplaces healthy and safe every day, the British Safety Council will be presenting two special individual awards at the Gala Dinner of theInternational Safety Awards that will take place at the Grosvenor House in London on 5 May 2017. The two awards are for Health and Safety Champion of the Year and for Young Health and Safety Champion of the Year. This will be the fifth year that the British Safety Council will be presenting these awards.

The awards recognise exceptional individual performance of non-health and safety professionals who have played a significant role keeping their work colleagues safe and healthy. For the Health and Safety Champion of the Year Award organisations nominate employees aged 25 or over. The Young Health and Safety Champion of the Year Award is given to workers aged 16-24.

This year, 136 organisations nominated individual employees for these awards. The applicants are from organisations operating in a wide range of industry sectors and countries, including the United Kingdom, Africa, Asia, the Middle East and the West Indies.

The following individuals have been shortlisted for the Health and Safety Champion Award 2017:

  • Colin Nivison, Glaxosmithkline Services Unlimited, Project Engineering Management, Irvine
  • Innes Alexander, Mace International Qatar
  • Kenny Maddock, BAE Systems Naval Ships
  • Kieren McCafferty, Walker Construction – Kent
  • Andrew Kettrick, Bachy Soletanche Ltd – Henderson House
  • Stephen Wilkinson, Addison Lee – London.

The shortlist for the Young Health and Safety Champion Award 2017 includes:

  • Ben Ealey-Newman, Cobham Antenna Systems – Marlow
  • Ravi Kumar Sharma, L&T Construction, Transportation Infrastructure Independent Company – Rewa Katni Jabalpur Lakhnadon Road Project
  • Shri Ajay Kumar Behara, Indian Oil Corporation Limited – Mangalore Terminal
  • Sophie Harwood, Waldeck Consulting
  • Tom Arkley, Willmott Dixon Interiors Ltd
  • Venkatesh Kannan A, Larsen and Toubro Limited – SUCG JV DMRC CC27 Project.

Last year, David Thomson, offshore inspection engineer at CAN Group, won the Health and Safety Champion Award. The Young Health and Safety Champion award for 2016 went to Ben Ealey-Newman,apprentice engineer at Cobham Antenna Systems. They both demonstrated exceptional commitment to ensuring their colleagues’ health and safety and a great deal of initiative by introducing projects that protected co-workers from the risk of injury and ill health.

Mike Robinson, Chief Executive of the British Safety Council, commented: “On behalf of the Trustees and staff of the British Safety Council, I warmly congratulate those nominated as health and safety champions, for their outstanding commitment to management of health, safety and welfare risks in their workplaces.

“We are delighted to have received so many submissions from organisations in different industry sectors and countries recognising their employees’ contribution towards making their workplaces healthier and safer. The shortlist of nominations reflects a great deal of individual effort of people who have gone the extra mile over and above their professional roles and responsibilities. Among the nominees are young workers who will be tomorrow’s health and safety champions.

“We are very grateful to our panel of judges who have independently adjudicated these two awards and look forward to announcing the winners of both award categories at the Gala Dinner on Friday, 5 May 2017.”

About the International Safety Awards
The International Safety Awards is an annual scheme designed to recognise and reward good health and safety management by organisations of all sizes and sectors around the world during the previous calendar year. These awards are now in their 59th year.

The list of International Safety Award winners for 2017 is at: www.britsafe.org/isa.

International Safety Awards Gala Dinner, 5 May 2017
The 2017 International Safety Awards Gala Dinner will be held at the Grosvenor House Hotel, Park Lane, London, on Friday 5 May 2017 to celebrate the success of the winners. Attendees will enjoy a spectacular evening that includes awards presentations, a fine dining experience, entertainment and dancing.

Find out more about the 2017 International Safety Awards Gala Dinner at: www.britsafe.org/events/galadinner

About the British Safety Council
For more than half a century we’ve been a trusted guide to excellent health, safety and environmental management. We have educated millions of workers and made hundreds of thousands of workplaces safer for everyone. We do this by sharing information, supporting, advising, educating and campaigning. We are a membership organisation and a charity.

In 2017, the British Safety Council is celebrating its 60th anniversary. A programme of special events and projects planned for our diamond jubilee can be seen here.

You may also like

Leave a Comment