Home Associations New Council Takes the Helm at Singapore Shipping Association

New Council Takes the Helm at Singapore Shipping Association

by admin

Caroline Yang, Chief Executive of Hong Lam Marine, is the first female
President in SSA’s 34 year history

New Council Takes the Helm at Singapore Shipping Association

First female President elected in SSA’s 34-year  history

The Council of the Singapore Shipping Association (SSA) – the industry voice of Singapore’s maritime community – has made history by nominating the Association’s first-ever female President since its founding in 1985.

At SSA’s 23rd Annual General Meeting (AGM) held on 26 June 2019, the 2019/2021 Council elected Caroline Yang, Chief Executive of Hong Lam Marine, as the association’s President. Ms Yang started her career with Hong Lam Marine as its in-house counsel in 1991, and has more than 25 years’ experience in the shipping industry.

As President of SSA, Ms Yang will be supported by two Vice Presidents and the SSA Secretariat headed by Michael Phoon. The two Vice Presidents nominated by the 2019/2021 Council are Katie Men, Managing Director of Iseaco Investment and Rene Piil Pedersen, Managing Director of A P Moller Singapore.

Commenting on her nomination, Caroline Yang said: “I am honoured by the trust the Council has placed in me by electing me as SSA President for the 2019/2021 term. The shipping community in Singapore has much to be proud of. This year, Singapore was awarded ‘Best Seaport in Asia’ for the 31st time and also the ‘Best Green Seaport’ at the 2019 Asia Freight, Logistics and Supply Chain Awards. We were also recognised as the ‘Top Leading Maritime Capital of the World’ for the fourth consecutive time in a report issued by Menon Economics and DNV GL.

“The industry continues to face challenging conditions and digital disruptions. As we navigate into the future together, the task of the Council is to work with all stakeholders to champion Maritime Singapore, to keep SSA relevant and responsive to its members, and to encourage participation by members in our shared goal.

“I would also like to place on record the Council’s deep appreciation to Immediate-past President Esben Poulsson, who has been a tireless champion of the Singapore shipping industry. His term is marked by the move of the SSA Secretariat into digitalisation, expansion of membership, and by preparing the industry for sweeping changes such as the sulphur cap that comes into effect in January 2020.”

At the 23rd Annual General Meeting, the Council also named Mr S S Teo, Executive Chairman and Managing Director of Pacific International Lines, an Honorary Member in recognition of his immense contributions to Singapore’s shipping industry in numerous capacities, including as a long-serving Councillor and President of SSA from 2003-2011.

The seven Ordinary Members nominated for the 2019/2021 Council are:

Member Company Represented by
A P Moller Singapore Pte Ltd Rene Piil Pedersen (Vice President)
COSCO (Singapore) Pte Ltd Gu Jing Song
Executive Ship Management Pte Ltd Steen Brodsgaard Lund
Hong Lam Marine Pte Ltd Caroline Yang (President)
Iseaco Investment Pte Ltd Katie Men (Vice President)
Pacific International Lines (Pte) Ltd Teo Teng Seng
Wallem Shipping (Singapore) Pte Ltd Nitin Mathur

You may also like

Leave a Comment