Home HRAwards Are you the next ESPO Award winner? Let us know by 1 July!

Are you the next ESPO Award winner? Let us know by 1 July!

by admin

espo awardThis year, the 6th ESPO Award on Societal Integration of Ports will be addressing innovative port projects that lead to environmental improvement for the benefit of the wider port and local community.

If you take innovative actions to improve literally the local environment, if your port tries try to respond to the environmental concerns of the population by setting up specific programmes addressing local air or water pollution, or you are doing something against noise or odours from your port, then you could apply for the ESPO Award 2014 and have the chance to make your project known internationally. Project submissions have to reach the ESPO secretariat by the first July at the latest.

The ESPO Award was established in 2009 to promote innovative projects of port authorities that improve societal integration of ports, especially with the city or wider community in which they are located. In this way, the Award wants to stimulate the sustainable development of European ports and their cities.

For the 2014 competition, the theme ‘Innovative environmental projects’ was chosen. Reducing the environmental impact of port operations and improving the local environmental conditions for the people working and living around the port are key success factors for the societal integration of ports. In fact, ports grant and maintain their license to operate and to grow from their local communities. Therefore, through the award, ESPO hopes to identify and promote innovative projects set up by ports that address the typical port-city concerns in the environmental field such as local air pollution, water pollution, noise, dust, odours. We warmly encourage you to participate in this year’s competition.
Project submissions must be received by the ESPO secretariat by 1 July at the latest. The sixth ESPO Award will be officially handed out during an Award Ceremony and Port Night, which will take place on 4 November 2014 in Brussels.

The previous winners were: the Port of Gijón (2009), the Port of Helsinki (2010), the Ports of Stockholm (2011), the Port of Genoa (2012) and the Port of Antwerp (2013).

You may also like

Leave a Comment