Home Ports & TerminalsSailing Rio 2016 Olympic places awarded in Men’s and Women’s 470 at Santander 2014 ISAF Worlds

Rio 2016 Olympic places awarded in Men’s and Women’s 470 at Santander 2014 ISAF Worlds

by admin

SANTANDER 2014 ISAF WORLDS CHAMPIONSHIPS19 September 2014 – Issued on behalf of ISAF – With Men’s and Women’s 470 final series racing at the Santander 2014 ISAF Sailing World Championships concluding on Friday 19 September the Rio 2016 spots on offer have been picked up.

Thirteen male and 10 female spots have been awarded in Santander and are as follows:

Women’s 470
1. Austria
2. China
3. France
4. Great Britain
5. Japan
6. The Netherlands
7. New Zealand
8. Russia
9. Slovenia
10. USA

Men’s 470
1. Australia
2. Austria
3. Croatia
4. Spain
5. France
6. Great Britain
7. Greece
8. Japan
9. New Zealand
10. Russia
11. Switzerland
12. Sweden
13. USA

The remaining places in each event shall be qualified from the 2015 Class World Championship and in a series of Continental Qualification Events sanctioned by ISAF, to finish by 1 June 2016 at the latest.

The inclusion for the first time by ISAF of Continental Qualification Events in the Qualification Pathway is an opportunity to develop sailing around the world and reflect the IOC Qualification System Principles. Key requirements of these Principles are to ensure the participation of the best athletes and ensure universality through continental representation.

Rio 2016 Olympic Qualification System

Schedule of Racing:

14-20 September, 470 Men and 470 Women
15-21 September, 49er, 49erFX, Finn and Nacra 17

Live Blog – A live blog will follow the ISAF Worlds from Thursday 11 September through to Sunday 21 September. The live blog is available here http://www.sailing.org/events/isafworlds/live-blog.php

Results are available here.

Santander 2014 ISAF Worlds Event Website
Santander 2014 ISAF Microsite


You may also like

Leave a Comment