Home HRAwards Nine Laser Rio 2016 spots awarded at 2015 World Championship

Nine Laser Rio 2016 spots awarded at 2015 World Championship

by admin

Stefano Peschiera Qualified Peru in CanadaThursday 9 July 2015 – Issued on behalf of ISAF – The 2015 Laser World Championship was the second opportunity for competitors in the Men’s One Person Dinghy to qualify for the Rio 2016 Olympic Sailing Competition.

Of the 46 places available on the Rio 2016 Laser startline, nine were up for grabs at the 2015 Worlds which were held in Kingston, Canada from 2-8 July 2015. The first qualification regatta, the Santander 2014 ISAF Sailing World Championships saw 24 nations secure a spot in Rio.

The nine nations to qualify for Rio 2016 from the 2015 Laser Worlds (in nation order) are:
1. Argentina
2. Chile
3. Estonia
4. Hungary
5. Korea
6. Montenegro
7. Peru
8. South Africa
9. Spain

Across a testing 13 race series in Canada, Nick Thompson (GBR) came out on top to take his first Laser world championship title. Philipp Buhl (GER) and Tom Burton (AUS) finished in second and third respectively.

Click here for results.

As hosts, Brazil automatically receives a place on the start line. Eleven places will be awarded via a series of Continental Qualification Events sanctioned by ISAF, to finish by 1 June 2016 at the latest. The remaining two places in the Laser will be decided via the International Olympic Committee Tripartite Commission.

The inclusion for the first time by ISAF of Continental Qualification Events in the Qualification Pathway is an opportunity to develop sailing around the world and reflect the IOC Qualification System Principles. Key requirements of these Principles are to ensure the participation of the best athletes and ensure universality through continental representation.

Click here to view the nations qualified following the Santander 2014 ISAF Worlds.

Click here to view the Rio 2016 Qualification System.


You may also like

Leave a Comment