Home HRAwards FONASBA Announces Winner of the Inaugural Young Ship Agent or Broker Award

FONASBA Announces Winner of the Inaugural Young Ship Agent or Broker Award

by admin

Renan Queiroz, <br /><br />
Winner of the 2015 FONASBA Young<br /><br />
Ship Agent or Broker Award

FONASBA is very pleased to announce that the winner of its first Young Ship Agent or Broker Award is Renan Queiroz of Wilson Sons Ltda., Brazil (pictured  on the left). A Highly Commended certificate was also awarded to Aleksandar Obucina of Agent Plus D.o.o. of Serbia.

The Award was introduced earlier this year with the aim of encouraging members of
the ship agency and ship broking profession aged 40 or younger to further their
academic and practical training and education by researching and writing a thesisstandard
paper on a maritime-related subject of their choice.

The Award attracted seven entries and these were reviewed and judged by a small
committee headed by former FONASBA President and Honorary Member Gunnar J.
Heinonen of Finland. Announcing the winner, Mr. Heinonen said “My colleagues and I
were extremely impressed by the standard of the entries, which was consistently high
across all the papers and we congratulate Mr. Queiroz and the other entrants on an
excellent effort. The number and level of the entries in this first year has proven the
concept of the Award and we hope to build on this encouraging start next year and

FONASBA President Glen Gordon Findlay said “I congratulate Renan Queiroz and the
other entrants for having participated in the award and for submitting such excellent
papers. FONASBA is committed to encouraging the development of education and
training across its membership and the wider ship agency and ship broking
professions. This award, together with the other initiatives FONASBA has introduced
recently, will ensure that education and training remain one of our core activities for
the future. The Award prizes were sponsored by FONASBA Club Members ITIC and
BIMCO and we are extremely grateful to both organisations for their generous

The other entrants for the 2015 Award were:
Diego Aguero, Agencia Maritima NABSA (Argentina)
Giulia De Paolis, Bulk Mare Srl (Italy)
Luisa Mastellone, Marinter Shipping Agency Srl
Nils Reinhardt, UCA, United Canal Agency GmbH
Frédéric Van Mechelen, MSC Belgium NV (Belgium)

You may also like

Leave a Comment