Home Associations The Ship Efficiency Awards 2015: Winners Revealed

The Ship Efficiency Awards 2015: Winners Revealed

by admin

Ship Efficiency Awards 201514 SEPTEMBER 2015, LONDON: An international audience of industry experts and innovators gathered together for the Ship Efficiency Awards 2015 to celebrate a spectacular array of individuals and organisations committed to driving ship efficiency through technological innovation, strategies and initiatives.

The Ship Efficiency Awards, hosted by Lloyd’s Register and organised by Fathom Maritime Intelligence, followed two days of lively discussion and debate at the fifth annual Ship Efficiency: The Event held as part of London International Shipping Week 2015.

A judging panel of industry experts, Lars Robert Pedersen, BIMCO; Roger Strevens, Wallenius Wilhelmsen Logistics; Craig Eason, Lloyd’s List; Oskar Levander, Rolls-Royce Marine and Dr. Tristan Smith, UCL, rigorously assessed all nomination entries and selected the winners for each award category. This process was chaired by Katharine Palmer, Environmental Manager, Lloyd’s Register.

The Energy Efficiency Solution Award, Sponsored By SpecTec

Winner: Norsepower Oy – Rotor Sail Solution

Norsepower CEO, Tuomas Riski said, “Wind at sea is a no brainer – it is an eternal free source of power. Norsepower is very proud of being the first actor on the market with a practical, tested and class-approved auxiliary wind propulsion solution. We want to thank our employees, partners, financers and our pilot customer, Bore, who have enabled reaching this important milestone on our way towards the market.”

The Environmental Technology Award, Sponsored By Hempel

Winner: Norled – The First Purely Battery-Driven Ferry ‘Ampere’

Norled CTO, Sigvald Breivik said, “Norled are honoured that Ampere has received this international award.Ampere is trading in Sognefjord with 100 per cent regularity and consumes 50 per cent less energy compared with a traditional diesel ferry on the same traffic line. Thus it has proved a huge success for Norled.The Ship Efficiency Award is not only recognition for the hard work we have done with our project partners, but it also confirms our efforts and contribution to the global climate goals by reducing air pollution.

The Initiative Of The Year Award, Sponsored By Marorka

Winner: Marstal Navigationsskole & Partners – Green Ferry Vision, E-Ferry

Marstal Navigationsskole Director, Jens Naldal said, “The Green Ferry Vision, E-Ferry project clearly demonstrates that even very practice-oriented local initiatives can, with the right ambitions and proper professionalism, bring about both visionary and right solutions to today’s environmental challenges. We would like to thank all our partners but would especially like to thank the municipality of Aeroe for their wholehearted support, and the consulting naval architect company Jens Kristensen from Marstal in Denmark for their ability to think out of the box and finding the right design and solutions.

The Sustainable Ship Operator Of The Year Award, Sponsored By SulNOx Fuel Fusions

Winner: Terntank – M/T Ternvag

Terntank’s Managing Director, Jens Buchhave said, “We are delighted that we have received this accolade for M/V Ternvag as recognition for our efforts in the areas of energy efficiency, environmental protection and sustainability. We will continue to provide the utmost quality of service to our customers and ensure we maintain the highest standards of sustainability and environmental care.”

The One To Watch Award, Sponsored By Inmarsat

Winner: Terragon Environmental Technologies – Micro Auto Gasification System (MAGS)

Terragon Environmental Technologies President and CEO, Dr. Panayotis Tsantrizos said, “Terragon is focused on enabling the zero waste habitat, including ships, with technologies such as MAGS that allow people to use beneficially all the resources available to them and eliminate the concept of waste.  We are greatly honoured and pleased that our efforts are recognized through this award.”

The Outstanding Contribution To Ship Efficiency Award, Hosted By Fathom Maritime Intelligence (Winner Selected By Public Vote)

Winner: Carbon War Room Shipping Operation

Carbon War Room Senior Associate, Victoria Stulgis, said, “We are thrilled to be honoured for five years of work in the maritime industry. This milestone is testament to the industry’s determination and cooperation, working with us to create long-term, credible partnerships and solutions. We are delighted to be acknowledged for all the hard work of our team and partners, particularly RightShip and UCL Energy Institute. The public vote makes it extremely special for us, and demonstrates support for Carbon War Room’s innovative approach to vessel rating, finance and other threads. Recently merged with the Rocky Mountain Institute, the Carbon War Room’s Shipping Efficiency Operation looks forward to continuing its work with industry to create a lower carbon economy for shipping.

Catherine Austin, Executive Director of Fathom Maritime Intelligence, said “We are absolutely delighted with the response the Ship Efficiency Awards has received from the maritime community this year.  I offer my congratulations to all winners and finalists this year. We look forward to welcoming the nomination submissions for the 2016 Ship Efficiency Awards.”

The Ship Efficiency Awards will return for 2016, further information will be announced by Fathom Maritime Intelligence in coming weeks.

For more information on the Ship Efficiency Awards 2016, visit: www.fathomshippingevents.com/ship-efficiency-the-awards


Fathom Maritime Intelligence pride themselves as being the information specialists on maritime efficiency. Through a unique mix of highly regarded print publications, online data portals, conferences, bespoke consultancy and more, Fathom creates accessible knowledge on key challenges facing owners, operators and the wider industry, through identifying where information voids exist for specialist insight, guidance and support services to assist and inform decision making.



The Ship Efficiency Awards recognise and celebrate organisations and individuals within the maritime sector that are excelling in efficient operations, implementing fresh thinking, offering proven efficiency benefits and advancing technological innovation.

Nominations for the awards were sent in over a period of six months, with the winners deliberated and selected by a panel of judges, comprised of experts from across the maritime industry. The winners were announced during a gala ceremony held at the Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre in London on September 9, 2015 straight after day two of Ship Efficiency: The Event.

You may also like

Leave a Comment