Home HRAcademia Lloyd’s List Global Award winners revealed
The winners with Lloyd's List's Editor Richard Meade on the top left and broadcaster Huw Edwards on the front right

The winners with Lloyd’s List’s Editor Richard Meade on the top left and broadcaster Huw Edwards on the front right

Lloyd’s List Global Award winners revealed, by Nicola Good

Lifetime achievement award for Flemming Jacob with Euronav taking company of the year

THE splendour of the National Maritime Museum provided a perfect backdrop as international shipping gathered in London last night to celebrate the industry’s success stories at the annual Lloyd’s List Global Awards.

More than 500 of the industry’s most senior executives turned out to discover the winners at the maritime sector’s most prestigious prizegiving and to recognise the people and businesses that have led the way through innovation, acumen and bravery over the past 12 months.

The coveted Company of the Year award went to Euronav, which, according to the independent panel of judges, has enjoyed a transformational year, becoming the tanker industry’s bellwether as it moves from strength to strength with an impressively bold and meticulously executed strategy.

The newsmaker of the year award, which this year was chosen by Lloyd’s List readers, went to Anglo-Eastern chief executive Peter Cremers, who, said Lloyd’s List editor Richard Meade, rather captured the spirit of the times with a big-ticket move towards consolidation following Anglo-Eastern’s merger with Univan.

The Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognises an individual who has contributed to the wellbeing of the industry in a profound way throughout his or her career, went to legendary liner man Flemming Jacobs.

He has “personally mentored, trained, and inspired a generation of industry leaders over the years, first at Maersk, then at Neptune Orient Lines and through the myriad board level and advisory roles that he has held in pretty much every shipping space you care to think of, ” said Mr Meade.

Seafarer of the Year is generally given to a single person who exemplifies the bravery, leadership and everyday heroics that quite literally drive our industry forward, but this year both the judging panel and the Lloyd’s List editorial team felt the award needed to collectively recognise all of the crews of merchant vessels that have been involved in the rescue of migrants at sea.

This coveted gong was collected by representatives of the European Community Shipowners Association, The International Chamber of Shipping, and the European Transport Workers’ Federation — organisations that have themselves been instrumental in helping prepare crews and ships for the demands of making a mass rescue, and in assisting with the ongoing political discussions to find a long term solution to this humanitarian crisis.

View the Global Awards topic page

The 2015 roll of honour:

• Amver Assisted Rescue at Sea Award (Inmarsat): Peruvian Reefer

• Corporate Social Responsibility Award: Holman Fenwick Willan

• Training Award: CMA CGM

• Safety Award (sponsored  by DP World): Hapag-Lloyd

 The HPH Environment Award (Hutchison Port Holdings): DNV GL

• Port Operator Award (sponsored by Yilport): APM Terminals

• Ship Operator Award (sponsord by Class NK): Costamare

• Maritime Lawyer of the Year: Norton Rose Fulbright

• Innovation of the Year: Patrick — The Ryan Key

• Deal of the Year: Clarksons Platou

• LLI Big Data Award: Eniram

• Newsmaker of the Year: Peter Cremers, chairman, Anglo-Eastern

• Next Generation Shipping Award: YoungShip

• Seafarer of the Year (sponsored by Lloyd’s Register): All vessels in migrant crisis

• Company of the Year (sponsored by DNV GL): Euronav

• Lifetime Achievement Award: Flemming Jacobs

The 2015  judging panel

• Nicolas Bornozis, president of Capital Link

• Cleopatra Doumbia-Henry, president of the World Maritime University

• Peter Hinchliffe, secretary-general of the International Chamber of Shipping

• Sadan Kaptanoglu, board member of Kaptanoglu and member of the executive committee, BIMCO

• Ravi Mehrotra, executive chairman of Foresight

• Michael Parker, head of Global Shipping & Logistics at Citi

• Tor Svensen, chief executive of DNV GL

• Harry Theochari, global head of transport at Norton Rose Fulbright

_ source: Lloyd’s List

You may also like

Leave a Comment