Home HRAwards Shortlisted finalists announced for the Ship Efficiency Awards 2016

Shortlisted finalists announced for the Ship Efficiency Awards 2016

by admin

The-Ship-Efficiency-Awards-Logo-780x318Now in their third year, the Ship Efficiency Awards have become a sought after recognition of ship efficiency excellence with all entrants assessed on stringent judging criteria by a panel of expert, independent judges.  Award winners will be celebrated at an evening gala ceremony, hosted by Lloyd’s Register, in London on November 2, 2016.

The Ship Efficiency Awards recognise organisations and individuals within the maritime sector that are excelling in efficient operations, implementing fresh thinking, offering proven efficiency and or environmental benefits and advancing technological innovation to support sustainable shipping operations.

The shortlisted finalists for the Ship Efficiency Awards 2016 are:

The Energy Efficiency Solution Award

–        ABB, Marine and Ports – World’s Largest Electric Ferries & Automated Shore-Side Charging Station

–        BMT Smart – Smart Fleet

–        Corvus Energy – Orca Lithium Ion Energy Storage System

–        VAF Instruments – IVY Propulsion Performance Management

The Environmental Technology Award

  • I-Tech – Selektope
  • Bluewater Trade Winds Pvt – Cargo Heating Management Service
  • Ecoslops – Port of Sines Micro Refinery
  • Wärtsilä Seals & Bearings – Wärtsilä Sternguard In-Water Serviceable Seal

The Initiative of the Year Award

  • Akzonobel’s Marine Coatings Business, International – Carbon Credits Initiative
  • DNV GL & HMD, MAN Diesel & Turbo, Becker Marine Systems – Future Feeder: Con-Green 2000 Design
  • Flinter Management – Big Data Collaboration and Research for Fuel Efficiency
  • Smart Green Shipping Alliance – Smart Green Shipping Alliance Collaboration

The Sustainable Ship Operator of the Year Award

  • Carnival Corporation
  • Stena Line Group
  • Wallenius Wilhelmsen Logistics

The One to Watch Award: As this is the ‘​ONE’ to watch there is no shortlist announced in this category. The award winner will be announced at the Awards Ceremony.

Shortlisted finalists were selected by an expert judging panel of:

  • Mark Cameron, Chief Operating Officer, Ardmore Shipping;
  • Iver Iversen, Director New Technology and Regulatory Affairs Wilh. Wilhelmsen;
  • Arthur Bowring, Managing Director, Hong Kong Shipowners Association;
  • Craig Eason, Deputy Editor, Lloyd’s List;
  • Tristan Smith, Lecturer in Energy and Transport, University College London; and

Katharine Palmer, Environmental Manager, Lloyd’s Register said, “Lloyd’s Register have been hosts of these Awards since inception. We are continually impressed with the level of participation and the breadth of nominations received. We would like to thank all entrants for their contribution and look forward to the awards ceremony in November”.

Alison Jarabo, Managing Director, Fathom Maritime Intelligence said, “The calibre of nominations received for the Ship Efficiency Awards has been exceptional. They demonstrate how, despite challenging times, there are still many companies in our industry that demonstrate an outstanding commitment to pushing the boundaries of ship efficiency. We are of course excited to be announcing the 2016 shortlist but also commend the many companies and organisations that entered as all are worthy of recognition.”

For further information about the Ship Efficiency Awards 2016, or register your attendance please visit www.fathomshippingevents.com/ship-efficiency-awards-2016

You may also like

Leave a Comment