Home HRAwards Last chance to nominate for the 2019 Greek Shipping Awards

Last chance to nominate for the 2019 Greek Shipping Awards

by admin

Last year’s winners

Last chance to nominate for the 2019 Greek Shipping Awards
Less than two weeks to go to submit entries for prestigious awards.

Less than two weeks remain for entries to be submitted for this year’s Lloyd’s List Greek Shipping Awards.

Nominations close on Friday October 18 for the 2019 awards, which once again are supported by a host of industry organisations and sponsors headed by lead event sponsor ClassNK.

The task of deciding the year’s most award-worthy performers is always a tough one. That is the job of the independent judges who will decide the winners of this year’s Greek Shipping Awards, and this year’s panel of luminaries looks more than capable of applying high standards and taking tough decisions.

Some are experienced hands from previous awards years, such as chairman of the Greek Shipping Co-operation Committee Haralambos Fafalios, president of the Hellenic Chamber of Shipping George Pateras, president of the Piraeus Marine Club Irene Daifas, president of the Hellenic Shortsea Shipowners Association Charalampos Simantonis, chairman of Intertanko’s Hellenic Mediterranean Panel Vasilis Bacolitsas, president of WISTA Hellas Angie Hartmann, and Panhellenic Seamen’s Federation general secretary Capt. John Halas.

Making their first appearance on the judging panel are chairman of the Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers (SNAME) Greek Section Dr. John Kokarakis and Professor of Management and Shipping Companies at the University of Piraeus and former Secretary General of the Ministry of Maritime Affairs and Island Policy Dr. Ioannis Theotokas.

More than 80 prominent personalities from Greek shipping have taken part in the awards judging panel, which is refreshed each year. Over 180 trophies have already been presented at the event, now in its sixteenth year, which has established a reputation as the largest international maritime awards ceremony worldwide. This year’s awards dinner will be held at the Athenaeum InterContinental hotel in Athens on Friday December 6.

The awards always attract a high number of very competitive nominations underlying the strength in depth of the Greek shipping community, while audiences at the presentation dinner have averaged 1,000 leading shipping personalities and their guests

This year all the well-established Awards will again be offered, with one major change.  Since inception, the regular categories have included our Award for Achievement in Safety and/or Environmental Protection. However, this has now been replaced by two separate Awards that we believe better reflect the demands on the modern shipping industry – The Safety Award and, separately, The Sustainability Award.

The opportunity to nominate is flung open to anyone connected with shipping, from the most prestigious owner to the humblest clerk, and in exercising their objectivity down the years the judges have played a key role in establishing the awards’ reputation for fairness and credibility.

The judges can only select winners from those nominated in writing by the deadline of Friday October 18. You can nominate on-line via the website www.greekshippingawards.gr.

Nominations for the Greek Shipping Awards are also accepted by simple email or fax (email: office@greekshippingawards.gr; fax: +30 210 4291196)

Remember to provide reasons why your candidate would make a deserving winner.


Lloyd’s List Greek Shipping Awards 2019 Gala Dinner
Friday December 6, 2019.


Dry Cargo Company of the Year
Sponsored by Marichem Marigases

Tanker Company of the Year
Sponsored by Bureau Veritas

Passenger Line of the Year
Sponsored by SWS

Shipbroker of the Year
Sponsored by the Tsakos Group

Shipping Financier of the Year
Sponsored by Tototheo Maritime

Piraeus International Centre Award
Sponsored by S.R.H. Marine Group

Technical Achievement Award
Sponsored by DNV GL

The Safety Award – NEW
Sponsored by SeaJets

International Personality of the Year
Sponsored by Capital Ship Management Corp.

Ship of the Year
Sponsored by RightShip

Award for Achievement in Education or Training
Sponsored by Panama Ship Registry

The Sustainability Award – NEW
Sponsored by Lloyd’s Register

The Next Generation Shipping Award
Sponsored by IRI / The Marshall Islands Registry

Lloyd’s List Intelligence Big Data Award *
Sponsored by ABS (American Bureau of Shipping)

Lloyd’s List / Propeller Club Lifetime Achievement Award
Sponsored by Shipping Deputy Ministry, Cyprus

Greek Shipping Personality of the Year
Sponsored by Eurobank

* Denotes awards not decided by the panel


Seafarer of the Year
Sponsored by Safe Bulkers, Inc.

Greek Shipping Newsmaker of the Year*
Sponsored by ExxonMobil


You may also like

Leave a Comment