Home Associations Lloyd’s List Greek Shipping Awards 2021 – The Winners

Lloyd’s List Greek Shipping Awards 2021 – The Winners

by admin

Lloyd’s List Greek Shipping Awards 2021 – The Winners

Konstantakopoulos, Vafias, Pittas and Aponte win awards at dinner event held in Athens

– Seanergy Maritime, Arcadia Shipmanagement, Alpha Lines, Hellaschart and National Bank of Greece among companies honoured –

Costamare chairman and chief executive Konstantinos V. Konstantakopoulos was named Greek Shipping Personality of the Year for 2021 as the Lloyd’s List Greek Shipping Awards made a return as an in-person dinner event after the 2020 Awards was held successfully as a ‘virtual’ event online.

Nicholas H. Vafiaswas honoured with a Lifetime Achievement Award while other major individual awards went to shipowners Gianluigi Aponte and Aristides Pittas, and to Amalia Miliou-Theochoraki.

An audience of 700 Greek and international shipping personalities gathered at the Athenaeum InterContinental hotel for the event, the limit allowed as one of numerous precautions taken by the organisers with public health and safety in mind.

In a welcome address, Minister of Shipping & Island Policy Ioannis Plakiotakis offered his congratulations to the nominees as well as the winners of the 2021 Awards.

“Recognizing values ​​such as quality, entrepreneurship, innovation, [the Awards] promote Greece, the largest shipping power in the world and establish it as the pre-eminent international shipping centre,” said Mr Plakiotakis.

The minister added: “I can only express my happiness and satisfaction at the fact that one of the most important shipping events returns to normal conditions after almost two years of the Covid-19 pandemic.”

Organised by Lloyd’s List, the international maritime information provider that was established as a newspaper in 1734, this year’s Greek Shipping Awards struck a balance between celebration of the industry’s achievements and reflection on the pain and challenges caused by the coronavirus pandemic. Another theme of the evening that demanded reflection was the necessity of addressing the climate crisis – another huge issue in which the shipping industry is aligned in its concern with the wider world.

ClassNK, a longtime supporter of the event, was once again overall lead sponsor of the Greek Shipping Awards.

Guests enjoyed a pre-dinner drinks reception hosted by Erma First while China Classification Society offered the traditional champagne toast to the health of Greek shipping.

Hellenic Chamber of Shipping chairman George D. Pateras kindly presented a donation on behalf of the event organisers to ‘Argo’, the charity supporting children with disabilities in the families of Greek seafarers.

The annual awards recognise achievement and meritorious activity in the Greek shipping industry and promote Greece as a maritime centre. Winners are chosen by an independent panel of judges representing a broad cross-section of the Greek shipping industry.

The 2021 Greek Shipping Awards event was co-hosted by award-winning ERT broadcaster Andriana Paraskevopoulou together with Lloyd’s List correspondent in Greece Nigel Lowry.


Konstantinos V. Konstantakopoulos was voted 2021 Greek Shipping Personality of the Year.

Lloyd’s List’s Greek Shipping Newsmaker of the Year Award went to Aristides J. Pittas of Euroseas and EuroDry, the US-listed containership and dry bulk shipping companies.

Nicholas H. Vafias was awarded the Lloyd’s List / Propeller Club Lifetime Achievement Award for a highly successful career in shipping that began nearly 50 years ago.

Amalia Miliou-Theocharaki won the New Generation Shipping Award, open to personalities of no more than 40 years of age.

Industry giant Gianluigi Aponte, founder of leading liner company Mediterranean Shipping Company (MSC) and MSC Cruises, was elected International Personality of the Year, the only Award open exclusively to non-Greeks.

The recipient of the Dry Cargo Company of the Year Award for 2021 was Seanergy Maritime, the Nasdaq-listed capesize bulker owner.

As Tanker Company of the Year the panel chose Arcadia Shipmanagement, a second win for the company in this category.

The judges chose Alpha Lines as Passenger Line of the Year.

Hellaschart Ltd won the Shipbroker of the Year Award.

The Greek Shipping Financier of the Year Award went to National Bank of Greece.

Panos Zachariadis, technical director of Atlantic Bulk Carriers, was awarded the Technical Achievement Award.

Capital Ship Management won The Safety Award.

The Hellenic Marine Environment Protection Association (Helmepa)won The Sustainability Award.

Franman was recipient of this year’s prestigious Piraeus International Centre Award.

The Seafarer of the Year Award was won by Capt. Michail Makris, Master of the Seajets catamaran ‘Sea Jet 2’, for rescuing 18 passengers from the Aegean Sea after their yacht sank in August 2021.

Isalos.net was winner of the 2021 Education or Training Award.

The Ship of the Year Award went to “Transgas Power”, a floating storage and regasification unit delivered to Dynagas this year. The vessel is the first FSRU ever built in China.

The Lloyd’s List Intelligence Big Data Award was presented to Seafair.

Lloyd’s List Greek Shipping Awards 2021


Dry Cargo Company of the Year

Seanergy Maritime

Tanker Company of the Year

Arcadia Shipmanagement

Passenger Line of the Year

Alpha Lines

Shipbroker of the Year

Hellaschart Ltd

Shipping Financier of the Year

National Bank of Greece

Technical Achievement Award

Panos Zachariadis

The Safety Award

Capital Ship Management

The Sustainability Award


Piraeus International Centre Award


International Personality of the Year

Gianluigi Aponte

Seafarer of the Year

Capt. Michail Makris

Achievement in Education or Training


Ship of the Year

“Transgas Power”

Next Generation Shipping Award

Amalia Miliou-Theocharaki

Lloyd’s List Intelligence Big Data Award


Lloyd’s List/Propeller Club Lifetime Achievement Award

Nicholas H. Vafias

Greek Shipping Newsmaker of the Year

Aristides J. Pittas

Greek Shipping Personality of the Year

Konstantinos V. Konstantakopoulos


You may also like

Leave a Comment