Home NewsEvents International Panel of Judges lined up for Seatrade Middle East & Indian Subcontinent Awards

International Panel of Judges lined up for Seatrade Middle East & Indian Subcontinent Awards

by admin

– IMO Secretary General announced as Chairman of Judging Panel –

The countdown has started as the maritime and shipping industry gears up for the 9th annual Seatrade Middle East & Indian Subcontinent Awards held in Dubai.

Hailed as the ‘Oscars’ of the maritime world, the awards are a showcase of the who’s who in the regional shipping and maritime industry and pay homage to the many achievements of individuals and companies over the past year.

Taking place in the luxurious ballroom at the Atlantis the Palm, the awards will be held on Monday 26th November with more than 750 guests expected to attend the evening’s glittering ceremony.

Once again, a panel of esteemed industry experts has been selected and Seatrade is honoured that the IMO Secretary General, Mr Koji Semimizu, has agreed to chair an independent judging panel for the 5 technical and operational categories.

He is joined by David Short, MD, Emirates Marine Services & Vice President of the Members Board of Trustees, IMarEST;  Capt. Dinesh Gautama, Advisor, The Container Shipping Lines Association (India), Director and Member of the Board of Trustees, Narottam Morarjee Institute of Shipping and Capt. Duncan McKelvie, Area Marine Representative, NYK Line, Dubai Office, NYK Logistics & Megacarrier.

A second judging panel will appraise entries in the 17 commercial categories and include a prestigious line up of: Mohammed Muallem, Senior Vice President & MD-UAE Region, DP World; Yudhishthir Khatau, Vice Chairman & MD, Varun Shipping Company Ltd, President, BIMCO; Capt. Feisal Ahmed Saad, Manager, Ras Laffan Port Operations; Capt. Mansoor Yasin Abdul Ghafoor, President, Evergreen Shipping Agency Co. (UAE) LLC; Sabyasachi Hajara, President, Indian National Shipowners’ Association (INSA) and Chairman & MD, The Shipping Corporation of India Ltd; Mohd Reza Maghami, Chairman, Simatech Shipping LLC; Abu Baker Bin Mohd Nor, CEO, Nakilat-Keppel Offshore & Marine Ltd and Saadi Rais, President, Dubai Ship Agents Assocation, member of the Board of Directors, Dubai World and Group Managing Director, Rais Hassan Saadi Group.

Five special awards are also handed out on the night and include: Shipping Company of the Year; Seatrade Personality of the Year; Seatrade Young Person of the Year; the Seatrade Outstanding Achievement Award and the Seatrade Lifetime Achievement Award.

Deadline for entries is 31st July 2012 and more details can be found on the website: seatrade-middleeastawards.com.


You may also like

Leave a Comment