Home Ports & TerminalsSailing 2014 ISAF Youth Worlds Media Accreditation Opens

2014 ISAF Youth Worlds Media Accreditation Opens

by admin

14157874380_bb9f03c79b_bMedia accreditation for the 2014 ISAF Youth Sailing World Championship set to be held in Tavira, Portugal from 12-19 July 2014 has opened.

More than 350 sailors from a record 65 confirmed nations are set to compete at the 44th edition of the ISAF Youth Worlds that will be held out of Clube Náutico de Tavira.

The 2014 ISAF Youth Worlds will feature some of the best youth sailors about and with easy economical access to Tavira, world class facilities and visitor attractions it will be an event to remember, and not one to miss out on.

Click here for the Media Accreditation Form. The ISAF Communications Department will be in touch shortly after to let you know if your request for accreditation has been successful or not.

ISAF Youth Worlds Website


The ISAF Youth Worlds was first held in Sweden in 1971. The 2014 ISAF Youth Sailing World Championship in Tavira, Portugal will be the 44th edition of the championship.

Past notable winners include American’s Cup skippers, Chris Dickson (NZL), Russell Coutts (NZL), Dean Barker (NZL); Olympic medallists, Nathan Outteridge (AUS), Iain Jensen (AUS), Robert Scheidt (BRA), Amelie Lux (GER), Ben Ainslie (GBR), Iain Percy (GBR), Alessandra Sensini (ITA), Elise Rechichi (AUS) and Tessa Parkinson (AUS); Volvo Ocean Race sailors like Stuart Bannatyne (NZL) and Richard Clarke (CAN). The most successful ISAF Youth World Champions are Great Britain’s Sally Cuthbert and Poland’s Zofia Klepacka having won four successive titles in the Laser II and Mistral respectively.

Italy is the current holder of the Nations Trophy, awarded annually to the top performing nation at the Youth Worlds. France is the most success nation through the history of the Championship, winning the Nations Trophy on a record 12 occasions and holding a record 72 medals: 24 gold, 30 silver and 18 bronze.

International Sailing Federation

The International Sailing Federation (ISAF) is the world governing body for the sport of sailing.

ISAF is made up of over 130 Member National Authorities (MNAs), who are its principal members, and responsible for the decision making process that governs the sailing world.

There are currently more than 100 ISAF International, Recognized and Classic Yacht Classes, ranging from the small dinghy classes for young people up to 60 foot ocean racers.


Sailing is a lifetime sport enjoyed right across the world.

The sport encompasses a massive range of disciplines and events including Olympic sailing, offshore sailing, windsurfing, match racing, team racing, fleet racing and disabled sailing.

Sailing first joined the Olympic programme at the Paris 1900 Olympic Games. Sailing was back on the Olympic programme for the London 1908 Olympic Games and has been a part of every Olympic Games since.


You may also like

Leave a Comment