Home Associations Qingdao to continue as Asian ISAF Sailing World Cup venue

Qingdao to continue as Asian ISAF Sailing World Cup venue

by admin

isaf sww22 December 2014 – Qingdao, China has been selected as the Asian venue for the ISAF Sailing World Cup in 2015 and 2016.
Qingdao, venue of the Beijing 2008 Olympic Sailing Competition, will host some of the world’s finest sailors for the third consecutive year from 14-20 September 2015 with the 2016 dates to be confirmed.

Spots for the 2015 ISAF Sailing World Cup Final, which will be held in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates from 27 October to 1 November 2015, will be at stake as well as World Cup bragging rights.

All ten Olympic events will race in China’s sailing capital with up to 40 boats within each fleet, ensuring the crème de la crème of the Olympic sailing world will be in attendance.

Head of the ISAF Sailing World Cup, John Craig, said, “Qingdao delivered two exceptional ISAF Sailing World Cup regattas in 2013 and 2014 and we expect more of the same for the next two years. Qingdao’s infrastructure for hosting large scale international regattas makes it the perfect venue for hosting the Asian leg of the 2015 and 2016 ISAF Sailing World Cup series.

“We look forward to continuing working with the Chinese Yachting Association and the Qingdao Yachting Association over the next two years to deliver memorable events for the sailors, local community and an international audience.”

The Mayor of Qingdao, Mr. Zhang Xinqi, said, “We are pleased that Qingdao is honoured to be the Asian venue for the ISAF Sailing World Cup in 2015 and 2016. We will provide more professional, more considerate and more meticulous service and deliver two events with high standards, making our due contribution to the development of sailing sport in Asia and in the world.

The announcement of Qingdao completes the 2015 ISAF Sailing World Cup series venues. Melbourne, Australia will host the opening bout in December 2014 before the show heads to Miami, USA in January 2015. Two European regattas in Hyères, France and Weymouth and Portland, Great Britain

2015 ISAF Sailing World Cup

Melbourne – 7-14 December 2014
Miami – 25-31 January 2015
Hyères – 20-26 April 2015
Weymouth and Portland – 8-14 June 2015
Qingdao – 14-20 September 2015
2015 Final Abu Dhabi – 27 October to 1 November 2015

ISAF Sailing World Cup Website

ISAF Sailing World Cup
The ISAF Sailing World Cup is the world-class annual series for Olympic sailing. It is open to the sailing events chosen for the 2016 Olympic Sailing Competition.The ISAF Sailing World Cup brings together five major regattas on the Olympic sailing circuit. Over 2, 000 of the world’s leading sailors representing 75 nations competed in the sixth season of the World Cup, 2013-2014.For more information about ISAF please go to isaf.com or contact marketing@isaf.com

About The International Sailing Federation

The International Sailing Federation (ISAF) is the world governing body for the sport of sailing.

ISAF is made up of 140 Member National Authorities (MNAs), who are its principal members.

You may also like

Leave a Comment