Home Associations The Health and Safety Champions and the Young Health and Safety Champions are shortlisted for 2016 Awards

The Health and Safety Champions and the Young Health and Safety Champions are shortlisted for 2016 Awards

by admin
From the last year's event -  the dinner. Picture credits: thebritishsafetycouncil

From the last year’s event – the dinner. Picture credits: thebritishsafetycouncil

Recognising individual contributions to keeping workers and workplaces healthy and safe every day, the British Safety Council will be presenting two special individual awards at the Gala Dinner of the International Safety Awards that will take place at the Grosvenor House in London on 6 May 2016. These two awards are for Health and Safety Champion of the Year and for Young Health and Safety Champion of the Year. This will be the fourth year that the British Safety Council will be presenting these awards.

This year, more than 100 organisations put forward nominations for these two individual awards. The applicants are from organisations operating in a wide range of industry sectors and countries, including the United Kingdom, Africa, Asia and the Middle East.

The following individuals have been shortlisted for the Health and Safety ChampionAward 2016:

  • Mike Pollard, Head of Lifting Governance, BAE Systems Naval Ships – Glasgow
  • Chris Norman, Plant Manager, Bemis Elsham Ltd – Brigg
  • David Thomson, Elected Safety Representative, CAN Group – Aberdeen
  • Greg Abernethy, Area Manager, ISS Facilities Services – Security – Aintree Hospital
  • Steve Taylor, Construction Manager, Mace International Qatar
  • Robert Watt, Chief Engineer, North Star Shipping (Aberdeen) Ltd.

The shortlist for the Young Health and Safety Champion Award 2016 is:

  • Vijeesh Vp, Civil Supervisor,  AFCONS Infrastructure Ltd (Chennai Metro Rail Project)
  • Shaun McSorley, Apprentice Engineer, Aston Martin Lagonda
  • Harry Waddington, Project Manager, Carillion – Carillion House
  • Ben Ealey-Newman, Apprentice, Cobham Antenna Systems (Marlow)
  • Shaun Sullivan, Apprentice Engineer, Royal Mail Group – Mount Pleasant Mail Centre
  • Ryan Paris, Deck Cadet, Vroon Offshore Services – Aberdeen.

Mike Robinson, Chief Executive of the British Safety Council, commented: “On behalf of the Trustees and staff of the British Safety Council, I warmly congratulate these health and safety achievers, of all ages, who have demonstrated outstanding commitment to helping to manage risks to people’s health, safety and welfare in their workplaces. This year’s shortlist of nominations is evidence of a great deal of individual effort by people who have gone the extra mile over and above their professional roles and responsibilities. Among the nominees are young workers who will be tomorrow’s health and safety champions.

“We are delighted to have received so many submissions from organisations in different industry sectors and countries worldwide, who wish to recognise the contribution their employees make every day to ensuring their workplaces remain healthy and safe.

“We are very grateful to our panel of judges who have independently adjudicated these two awards and look forward to announcing the winners of both award categories at the Gala Dinner on Friday, 6 May 2016.”

About the International Safety Awards
The International Safety Awards is an annual scheme designed to recognise and reward good health and safety management by organisations of all sizes and sectors around the world during the previous calendar year. These awards are now in their 58th year.

The list of International Safety Award winners for 2016 can be found at:www.britsafe.org/isa

International Safety Awards Gala Dinner,  6 May 2016
The 2016 International Safety Awards Gala Dinner will be held at the Grosvenor House Hotel, Park Lane, London, on Friday 6 May 2016 to celebrate the success of the winners. Attendees will enjoy a spectacular evening that includes awards presentations, a fine dining experience, entertainment and dancing.

You may also like

Leave a Comment