Home » Edward DeNike, President of SSA Containers Presented with 2018 Connie Award

Edward DeNike, President of SSA Containers Presented with 2018 Connie Award

by admin

l to r: Michael DiVirgilio, CII President; Ed DeNike, President of SSA Containers; Mrs. DeNike; Ronald J. Forest, President of Matson Navigation and Sue Coffey, CII Treasurer

Edward DeNike, President of SSA Containers presented with 2018 Connie Award in Long Beach, CA

Long Beach, CA (September 21, 2018) – Edward Anthony DeNike, president of SSA Containers, a division of Carrix, received the 2018 Connie Award presented by the Containerization & Intermodal Institute in Long Beach, CA, on Tuesday, September 18. In addition, CII presented nearly $20,000 in scholarships to students pursuing careers in logistics and supply chain as well as organizations who are training the future leaders of the industry.

Mr. DeNike was honored with the prestigious award for his contributions to containerization and international trade and transportation industry over the course of the last five decades.

The dinner event honoring Mr. DeNike was held at the Long Beach Renaissance Hotel. Ronald J. Forest, President of Matson Navigation, presented the award in front of over 250 people. This event was held in conjunction with the IANA Intermodal EXPO.

“It is no surprise that our recipient, Ed DeNike–an industry legend–has attracted a record-breaking crowd. This speaks well to CII, the prestigious award, the entire Los Angeles and Long Beach transportation community and the honoree himself,” said CII President, Michael DiVirgilio.

Connie Award Recipient Ed DeNike
Mr. DeNike is the president of the company’s domestic container operations and also serves as chief operating officer for SSA Terminals, Carrix’s largest joint venture; Pacific Maritime Services, Carrix’s joint venture with COSCO; SSA Terminals (Long Beach), Carrix’s joint venture with Mediterranean Shipping; and SSA Terminals (Seattle), Carrix’s joint venture with China Shipping.

Mr. DeNike began his career in 1966 with Crescent Wharf & Warehouse. He became a member of the SSA management team when SSA purchased Crescent in 1983. He managed numerous waterfront operations since his initial hiring and has worked in all major ports on the West Coast in all types of cargo operations. Mr. DeNike was the architect and terminal manager for several major facilities in San Francisco, Oakland and Long Beach.

“For me, being on the waterfront wasn’t a job, it was a way of life,” said Mr. DeNike during his acceptance speech. “Throughout my 52-year career-from my first days as a 20-year-old on the waterfront to my current role with SSA–it has always been about the amazing people who make this industry so special.”

In addition to his responsibilities at SSA Containers, Mr. DeNike serves on the board of the Pacific Maritime Association.

The Containerization and Intermodal Institute’s mission is to promote and support education for the trade and transportation industry. At the event, CII continued its industry mission by presenting 14 scholarships during a pre-event reception. Since 1992, under the auspices of CII, more than $900,000 in scholarships has been awarded. The following scholarships were presented:

  • Direct ChassisLink, Inc. Scholarship was awarded to Morgan Foldesi, a deserving student pursuing a Master of Science degree in Supply Chain Management program from California State University, Long Beach. DCLI is participating in the CII Scholarship program for the first time.
  • Evergreen Line Scholarship was presented to Riddhi Malviya, a graduate student in the Master of Science in Global Supply Chain Management program at the University of Southern California Marshall School of Business.
  • Flexi-Van Leasing Inc. Scholarship was presented to the Harbor Truck Driver Training Program at Long Beach City College. This program addresses the need for more drivers in the trucking industry while encouraging collaboration between trucking companies, drivers and terminal operators.
  • Matson, Inc. Scholarships were awarded to institutions committed to developing young talent in the industry: California Maritime Academy and EXP – formerly known as ITEP – for the second year in a row.
  • Norton Lilly Scholarship Grant contributed to the California Maritime Academy General Scholarship Fund.
  • OEC Group Scholarship was awarded to Kannan Avalurpet Loganathan, an outstanding student in the Global Supply Chain Management program at the University of Southern California Marshall School of Business. The OEC Group is participating in the Connie Award Sponsorship program for the first time.
  • Port of Long Beach Scholarship was given to Beril Unver, a deserving student, who is excelling in the Global Logistics Specialist program at California State University, Long Beach.
  • SSA Marine Scholarship was presented to Esmeralda Agredano-Salazar, a student at the top of her class in the school’s Global Logistics Specialist program.
  • The Journal of Commerce Scholarship was presented to Samuel James Crawford IV, a graduate student at the top of his class, in the Global Supply Chain Management Program at the University of Southern California Marshall School of Business.
  • CII Scholarships were awarded to three exemplary students from the California State University, Long Beach, Kevin R. Garity, Jr., Samantha Nguyen, Jeremiah Robert Pfaff. All students are pursuing Master’s degrees in Supply Chain Management.
  • CII again gifted a grant to EXP – formerly known as ITEP – for its commitment to provide high school students with opportunities to learn about careers in international trade, transportation and logistics.

CII, founded in 1960, has been presenting the Connie Award since 1972 and it has become the most coveted honor in the field of containerization and its ancillary industries. Among some 40 recipients to date are Robert Curry, Sr., John McLaurin, Richard Steinke, Matthew Cox, Rick Gabrielson, James McKenna, Paul F. Richardson, Captain S. Y. Kuo, Ronald Widdows, Jon Hemingway, Thomas B. Crowley Sr., Malcom McLean and Evergreen Group Chairman Dr. Y. F. Chang, among others.

The Connie Award luncheon on the east coast will be held in Newark, NJ, on December 10th at the Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel.

You may also like

Leave a Comment