Home HRAwards Last chance to nominate for the 2018 Greek Shipping Awards

Last chance to nominate for the 2018 Greek Shipping Awards

by admin

Last year’s winners

Last chance to nominate for the 2018 Greek Shipping Awards

Only one week remains for entries to be submitted for this year’s Lloyd’s List Greek Shipping Awards and the pace of the submissions has increased as it always does at this time of year.

Nominations close on Thursday October 18 for the 2018 awards, which once again are supported by a host of industry organisations and sponsors headed by lead event sponsor ClassNK.

For long-term shipping players, turbulent, even depressed, spells in the industry always mean there will be winners and losers. At such times the task of deciding criteria for adjudicating the year’s most award-worthy performers if anything becomes tougher.

That is part of the job of the independent judges who will decide the winners of this year’s Greek Shipping Awards, and this year’s panel of luminaries looks more than capable of applying high standards and taking tough decisions.

Some are experienced hands from previous awards years, such as chairman of the Greek Shipping Co-operation Committee Haralambos Fafalios, president of the Hellenic Chamber of Shipping George Pateras, chairman of Intertanko Nikolas P. Tsakos, president of the Propeller Club George Xiradakis, president of WISTA Hellas Angie Hartmann, and Panhellenic Seamen’s Federation general secretary Capt. John Halas.

Making their first appearance on the judging panel are president of the European Community Shipowners’ Associations Panos Laskaridis, chairman of the Green Award Foundation Dimitrios Mattheou and president of Hemexpo Eleni Polychronopoulou.

More than 70 prominent personalities from Greek shipping have taken part in the awards judging panel, which is refreshed each year. Over 170 trophies have already been presented at the event, now in its fifteenth year, which has established a reputation as the largest international maritime awards ceremony worldwide. This year’s awards dinner will be held at the Athenaeum InterContinental hotel in Athens on Friday December 7.

The awards always attract a high number of very competitive nominations underlying the strength in depth of the Greek shipping community, while audiences at the presentation dinner have averaged 1,000 leading shipping personalities and their guests.

The opportunity to nominate is flung open to anyone connected with shipping, from the most prestigious owner to the humblest clerk, and in exercising their objectivity down the years the judges have played a key role in establishing the awards’ reputation for fairness and credibility.

The judges can only select winners from those nominated in writing by the deadline of Thursday October 18. You can nominate on-line via the website www.greekshippingawards.gr.  Nominations for the Greek Shipping Awards are also accepted by simple email or fax (email: office@greekshippingawards.gr; fax: +30 210 4291196)

Remember to provide reasons why your candidate would make a deserving winner.


Lloyd’s List Greek Shipping Awards 2018 Gala Dinner – Friday December 7, 2018.

 2018 Awards Categories

 Dry Cargo Company of the Year

Sponsored by Marichem Marigases


Tanker Company of the Year

Sponsored by Bureau Veritas


Passenger Line of the Year

Sponsored by Five Oceans Salvage


Shipbroker of the Year

Sponsored by the Tsakos Group


Shipping Financier of the Year

Sponsored by Tototheo Maritime


Piraeus International Centre Award

Sponsored by S.R.H. Marine Group


Technical Achievement Award

Sponsored by DNV GL


International Personality of the Year

Sponsored by Capital Ship Management Corp.


Ship of the Year

Sponsored by RightShip


Award for Achievement in Education or Training

Sponsored by Panama Ship Registry


Award for Achievement in Safety or Environmental Protection

Sponsored by Lloyd’s Register


The Next Generation Shipping Award – NEW

Sponsored by IRI / The Marshall Islands Registry


Lloyd’s List Intelligence Big Data Award *

Sponsored by ABS (American Bureau of Shipping)


Lloyd’s List / Propeller Club Lifetime Achievement Award

Sponsored by Cyprus Department of Merchant Shipping


Greek Shipping Personality of the Year

Sponsored by Eurobank


* Denotes awards not decided by the panel



Seafarer of the Year

Sponsored by Safe Bulkers, Inc.


Greek Shipping Newsmaker of the Year*

Sponsored by ExxonMobil

You may also like

Leave a Comment