Home HRAwards Lloyd’s List Greek Shipping Awards 2013

Lloyd’s List Greek Shipping Awards 2013

by admin

photo (60)Prokopiou and Tourkolias win major awards  as 1, 100 attend shipping awards gala

– Costamare, StealthGas, ABN AMRO, Aegean and others also honoured –

THE winners of the Lloyd’s List Greek Shipping Awards for 2013 have been announced at a glittering gala dinner and awards presentation which attracted 1, 100  of Greece’s leading shipping personalities, executives and their guests.

The packed audience for the 10th annual Greek Shipping Awards, organised by Lloyd’s List, the international maritime newspaper established in 1734, heard welcoming speeches by the minister of Shipping and the Aegean, Miltiadis Varvitsiotis, and Noboru Ueda, president of ClassNK, the event’s overall lead sponsor.

Guests enjoyed a pre-dinner cocktail reception hosted by the American Bureau of Shipping and a Champagne Toast’ to Greek Shipping sponsored by the China Classification Society and the event, held as is traditional at the Athenaeum InterContinental Hotel, was also supported by numerous Greek and international companies sponsoring individual awards, as well as by a number of prestigious industry organisations.

The awards are held annually to recognise and reward achievement and meritorious activity in the Greek shipping industry as well as to promote Greece’s status as a maritime centre. Winners are chosen by an independent panel of judges representing a broad cross-section of the Greek shipping industry.

George Prokopiou was named Greek Shipping Personality of the Year for 2013, reflecting a recent period of expansion, particularly of LNG company Dynagas. Notable events included the first transit of the Northern Sea Route by an LNG carrier, delivery of three new ice-class newbuildings, and the listing of newly-formed Dynagas LNG Partners on Nasdaq.

Lloyd’s List’s Greek Shipping Newsmaker of the Year award went to Petros Pappas, of Oceanbulk, for a year which included major orders and acquisitions in three different market sectors, mainly in partnership with Oaktree Capital Management. The Award is decided by the editorial staff of Lloyd’s List.

Alexandros Tourkolias, a longstanding shipping banker, was awarded the Lloyd’s List / Propeller Club Lifetime Achievement Award for an outstanding career that not only includes ship finance but leadership of the country’s largest bank as chief executive of the National Bank of Greece.

Robert D. Somerville was elected International Personality of the Year, the only award open exclusively to non-Greeks. Mr Somerville, a strong supporter of Greek shipping, recently retired as chairman of ABS and was the longest leader of the classification society in its 151-year history.

The recipient of the Dry Cargo Company of the Year Award for 2012 was containership owner Costamare Inc., which had a highly active year, taking delivery of a series of 9, 000 teu newbuildings. In addition, it launched innovative joint ventures with fund manager York Capital, for acquiring more container vessels, and with V Ships to create a new technical management unit.

Expanding LPG carrier owner StealthGas won the Tanker Company of the Year Award. The Nasdaq-listed company ordered 15 newbuildings in 2013 as well as buying several secondhand vessels.

Passenger Line of the Year was Small Cyclades Lines, a service maintained by the Skopelitis family that provides a lifeline for five small islands in the Aegean.

John Pachoulis, former president of the Hellenic Shipbrokers Association, won the Shipbroker of the Year Award.

Dutch bank ABN AMRO was chosen as winner of the Shipping Financier of the Year Award, having re-established itself in the Greek market during the current crisis and emerging as an active lender to Greek shipowners.

Erma First S.A., part of the Environmental Protection Engineering group, won the Technical Achievement Award for its ballast water treatment system.

The University of the Aegean received the prestigious Piraeus International Centre Award.

Bunkering giant Aegean Marine Petroleum Network was adjudged winner of the Award for Safety or Environmental Protection for its spotless record of zero spill incidents.

Helmepa was declared winner of the Award for Achievement in Education or Training for its seafarers’ seminars as well as educational role in schools.

The Seafarer of the Year Award was won by Capt Dimitrios Manolas and Capt Pavlos Kountouris for their participation in the response to an emergency call in Fenbruary 2013 and the ensuing rescue of four Irish sailors from their yacht ‘Wolfhound’..

Ariston Navigation’s handysize dry bulk carrier Ardennes, the first in a series of new eco-design newbuildings caught the judges’ eye as the Ship of the Year for numerous fuel efficiency features as well as its integrated systems, electric deck cranes and other specifications.

In the Awards’ 10th anniversary year, an additional, special award was presented to celebrate the occasion. Angeliki Frangou won the Deal of the Decade Award for her $600m takeover of Navios in 2005.

The Awards are officially supported by prominent bodies in Greek shipping, including the Union of Greek Shipowners, the Hellenic Chamber of Shipping and the Greek Shipping Co-operation Committee. Supporting organizations also include the Hellenic Marine Environment Protection Association – Helmepa, the Hellenic Shipbrokers’ Association, the Association of Greek Passenger Shipping Companies. the Propeller Club, International Port of Piraeus, WISTA Hellas, the Association of Banking & Financial Executives of Hellenic Shipping, and the Piraeus Association for Maritime Arbitration.


Lloyd’s List Greek Shipping Awards 2013


Dry Cargo Company of the Year – sponsored by Aspida Maritime Security

Tanker Company of the Year – sponsored by Jetoil Bunkering

Passenger Line of the Year, sponsored by V.Ships

Shipbroker of the Year – sponsored by GMS

Shipping Financier of the Year – sponsored by Star Bulk Carriers Corp.

Piraeus International Centre Award – sponsored by The NASDAQ Stock Market

Technical Achievement Award – sponsored by Germanischer Lloyd

Ship of the Year – sponsored by RightShip

International Personality of the Year – sponsored by the National Bank of Greece

Achievement in Education or Training – sponsored by The American Club
Seafarer of the Year – sponsored by Tsavliris Salvage Group

Achievement in Safety or Environmental Protection – sponsored by Lloyd’s Register

Deal of the Decade – sponsored by Wirana Shipping Corporation

Lloyd’s List/Propeller Club Lifetime Achievement Award – sponsored by the Target Group

Greek Shipping Newsmaker of the Year – sponsored by XRTC Business Consultants

Greek Shipping Personality of the Year – sponsored by the Royal Bank of Scotland

You may also like

Leave a Comment