Home HRAcademia Greek Shipping Awards 2020 highlight ‘best of the best’ in first-ever virtual ceremony
Anna Angelicoussi

Greek Shipping Awards 2020 highlight ‘best of the best’ in first-ever virtual ceremony
Anna Angelicoussi wins ‘Personality of the Year’ Award as Athanasios
Martinos receives Lifetime Achievement recognition

Thanassis Martinos

SOME of the leading names in the Greek shipping industry participated in the first-ever virtual edition of the Lloyd’s List Greek Shipping Awards, streamed on Friday, 4 December 2020.
Organised by Lloyd’s List, the provider of international shipping information since 1734, the highly popular annual awards event continued to receive impressive support from Greek and international sponsors, led by overall Event Sponsor ClassNK, despite its recasting as a digital event due to Covid-19 restrictions.
Hosted by Nigel Lowry of Lloyd’s List and Adriana Paraskevopoulou, news anchor at Greek public broadcaster ERT, the show saw awards in 18 categories of achievement presented with full respect paid to social distancing and health precautions.
The online event highlighted the global nature of Greek shipping with exclusive data showing the frequency of Greek ship port calls around the world. Other themes that emerged as the evening unfolded included the industry’s concern for its seafarers during the coronavirus crisis, the importance placed on sustainability and also the resilience of the country’s passenger shipping industry in maintaining services to the Greek islands.
For the first time in 16 years, a woman walked off with the Greek Shipping Personality of the Year Award. The panel of industry judges, which sifted through more than 200 nominations for the 18 awards, selected Anna Angelicoussi of Alpha Bulkers, Alpha Gas and Pantheon Tankers for the honour, making her the first female victor in the category since Athina Martinou in the inaugural year of the awards in 2004.

Greek shipping legend Thanassis Martinos, meanwhile, was chosen as the winner of this year’s Lloyd’s List/Propeller Club Lifetime Achievement Award.

Other top personalities recognised were Suzanna Laskaridis, founder of Real Time Graduates and Blue Cycle, who won the Next Generation Shipping Award for personalities under 40, while the president of the Passenger Shipping Companies Union, Michalis Sakellis, was named Newsmaker of the Year.

Notable winners of company awards included Atlantic Bulk Carriers, which scooped the Dry Cargo Company of the Year Award, and Okeanis Eco Tankers, named Tanker Company of the Year 2020.

Guy Platten, Secretary General of the International Chamber of Shipping, was elected International Personality of the Year, the only award exclusively for non-Greeks, for his tireless efforts to solve the international crew change crisis.

Other honorees included ONEX Shipyards, owner of the Neorion yard in Syros, for singlehandedly reviving the prospects for Greek shipbuilding and ship repair.Our congratulations to all the winners of the 2020 Greek Shipping Awards:-

Dry Cargo Company of the Year
Atlantic Bulk Carriers

Capt. Stelios Papadopoulos

Shipbroker of the Year
Seaborne Shipbrokers

Vassilis Koutroulis

International Personality of the Year
Guy Platten

Guy Platten

Next Generation Shipping Award
Suzanna Laskaridis

Suzanna Laskaridis

Shipping Financier of the Year
Alpha Bank

Konstantinos Sotiriou

Passenger Line of the Year
Attica Group

Spiros Paschalis

Technical Achievement Award

George Ligeros

The Safety Award
VENLYS Maritime Specialisation Services

Katerina Skourtanioti

Seafarer of the Year
Capt. Apostolos Apostolakis

Capt. Apostolos Apostolakis

Piraeus International Centre Award
ONEX Shipyards

Panos T. Xenokostas

Achievement in Education
National Technical University of Athens

Andreas Boudouvis

Tanker Company of the Year
Okeanis Eco Tankers

Ioannis Alafouzos

Ship of the Year
‘Excelerate Sequoia’

Maria Angelicoussi with Spiros Skertsos

Newsmaker of the Year
Michalis Sakellis

Michalis Sakellis

LLI Big Data Award
METIS Cyberspace Technology

Mike Konstantinidis

The Sustainability Award
Typhoon Project (ACLF)

Evi Lazou

Lifetime Achievement Award
Athanasios Martinos

Greek Shipping Personality of the Year
Anna Angelicoussi

You may also like

Leave a Comment