Home HRClubs The Annual Seahorse Journalist Awards 2011

The Annual Seahorse Journalist Awards 2011

by admin

The Seahorse Club named freelance journalist Gavin van Marle as its 2011 Journalist of the Year. Runner-up for a second consecutive year was fellow freelancer, Alex Lennane, who also won the Supply Chain Journalist of the Year award.

The awards were presented at the club’s annual Christmas party where a record number of journalists from specialist freight publications and national newspapers entered and attended, as well as a number of senior figures from the freight and logistics industry.
The event took place at the TT Club ‘s offices in the Square Mile, a long standing supporter of the Seahorse Club Awards,  which together with the UK Club and ITIC fully supported and sponsored the event. Charles Fenton from the TT Club welcomed the guests. Other sponsors included the ITJ, Wallenius Wilhelmsen Logistics, Geodis, DPWorld, ABS, Safmarine, Multimodal 2012 and APM Terminals.

One of the highlights of the events was the support and raffle for the Chauncy Maples, the Lake Malawi floating clinic revovation. Indeed we all supprorted this noble cause of Africa’s oldest ship to bring to basic healthcare to Malawi’s lakeside people and we invite all our readership to do so! The site for contact is: www.chauncymaples.org .-
Garry Foster from Transaid charity spoke too in supporting Transaid Christmas appeal for less road accidents in the sub-Saharian Afica and the world at large where 1.3 million people are killed annualy. Log on www.tranaid.org, its worth it!

Coincidentially many winners, runners ups and guests where held in traffice and in trains… and they where either late or missed hte event! Who’s to blaim?

The full list of award winners:
Journalist of the Year
Winner:  Gavin van Marle, Freelance
Runner-up:  Alex Lennane, Freelance
Sponsored by UK P&I Club and presented by Nick Whitear, Commercial Director, Thomas Miller P&I Ltd
News Journalist of the Year
Winner:  Michelle Weise Bockmann, Bloomberg
Runner-up:  Greg Miller, Fairplay
Sponsored by DP World and presented by Sarah Lockie, Director, Corporate Communications
Feature Journalist of the Year
Winner:  Yannick Guerry, Safety at Sea International
Runner-up:  Paul Clifton, BBC/Freelance
Sponsored by APM Terminals

Victor Shieh form Safmarine Container Lines delivers the Futures Award t yannick Guerry

Supply Chain Journalist of the Year
Winner: Alex Lennane, Freelance
Runner-up: Marcia Macleod, Freelance
Sponsored by Geodis Wilson and presented by Michael Zuchold, Communications Manager
Environmental Journalist of the Year
Winner: Richard Meade, Lloyd’s List
Runner-up: Phil Hastings, Freelance
Sponsored by Wallenius Wilhelmsen Logistics and presented by Anna Larsson, Head of External Communications
Air Cargo Journalist of the Year
Winner: Will Waters, Freelance writing for Air Cargo Management
Runner-up: Ian Martin Jones, Air Cargo Week
Sponsored by the Seahorse Club
Personality of the Year
Winner: Tony Berkely, for his dedication and enthusiasm in promoting the logistics industry and the rail freight sector in particular
Lifetime Achievement Award
Winner: Michael Grey
The Seahorse Awards, run by the Seahorse Club have been running for the past 19 years and have experienced growth each year.

The Seahorse Club is a lively and enjoyable focal point drawing together a variety of public relations, marketing, advertising and promotional professionals all focusing on promoting aspects of the freight, passenger, shipping and logistics sectors.


You may also like

Leave a Comment